On 26 June 2020, KPMG were appointed as administrators of intu Properties PLC. Find out more

Non-executive directors

Our non-executive directors provide the executive management team a valuable forum for discussion and advice based on wide-ranging experience

John Whittaker

Appointed to the Board: Appointed as deputy chairman and a non-executive director on 28 January 2011.

Career: John is the chairman of the Peel Group, which he founded in 1971 and developed into a leading UK infrastructure, transport and real estate enterprise.

Skills and Experience: John is a highly regarded real estate investor and has overseen the growth of the Peel Group across many sectors such as land, real estate, ports, airports, renewable energy and media. He is an experienced property developer and business leader, illustrated by projects such as The Trafford Centre, MediaCityUK and Liverpool2. His appointment to the Board followed the acquisition by intu of The Trafford Centre from the Peel Group in 2010.

Other appointments: Chairman of the Peel Group.


  • Member of the Capital Projects Committee

Ian Burke
Senior independent non-executive director

Appointed to the Board: Appointed to the Board on 1 October 2018 and as senior independent director on 25 October 2019.

Career: Ian spent the majority of his career in the leisure industry, having been the chief executive of Rank Group plc between 2006 and 2014, Holmes Place Health Clubs from 2003 to 2006 and Thistle Hotels plc from 1998 to 2003. He was Chairman of Rank Group plc from 2011 to 2019. 

Skills and Experience: Ian brings a wealth of experience from the leisure and retail sectors as well as significant prior experience of participation in audit and remuneration committees. He commenced his career in 1978 at Lever Bros. He has a degree in Mathematics from Imperial College, an MSc from the London Business School and is a qualified ACMA. 

Other appointments: non-executive chairman of Studio Retail Group plc and chairman designate of Pets at Home Group plc (taking up the role of chairman on 21 May 2020). He is a member of the board of governors of Birmingham City University. 


  • Chair of the Remuneration Committee 
  • Member of the Audit Committee
  • Member of the Nomination & Review Committee

Cheryl Millington
Non-executive director

Appointed to the Board: Appointed to the Board on 3 May 2019.

Career: Cheryl has held a number of senior digital and technology leadership roles across a variety of sectors, including retail and financial services, most recently as chief digital officer at Travis Perkins plc where she was responsible for designing and implementing the digital strategy across the group. Prior to that, Cheryl was chief digital officer and a member of the executive board at Waitrose Ltd and chief information and data officer at Asda Stores Ltd. She has previously held senior management roles at HBOS plc, Innogy plc and National Power plc. Previously Cheryl served as a non-executive director of National Savings and Investments.

Skills and Experience: Cheryl brings an extensive and significant experience to the Board in defining digital vision and strategy and will be instrumental in helping to drive intu's digital strategy, including data insight and analytics.

Other appointments: Cheryl is currently a non-executive director of Hays plc, Equiniti Group plc and Atom Bank plc. She is also a trustee of Durham University and a lay member of the university's council.


  • Member of the Audit Committee
  • Member of the Nomination & Review Committee
  • Member of the Remuneration Committee

Steve Barber
Non-executive Director

Appointed to the Board: Appointed to the Board on 9 September 2019.

Career: Steve's career has included 25 years with Price Waterhouse where he was a senior partner. He was then chief financial officer of the Mirror Group plc from 1998 to 1999, a partner in EY from 2001 to 2005 and chief operating officer of the Palladian Group from 2005 to 2008. In his non-executive career, he has also been the audit committee chairman of Next plc (2007-17) and Domino’s Pizza Group plc (2015-19).

Skills and Experience: Steve is an experienced non-executive director and audit committee chairman and is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. 

Other appointments: Steve is currently a non-executive director and audit committee chair of AA plc, Fenwick Limited and of National World plc.


  • Chair of the Audit Committee 
  • Member of the Nomination & Review Committee
  • Member of the Remuneration Committee

David Hargrave
Non-executive director

Appointed to the Board: Appointed to the Board on 1 May 2020.

Career: David is a qualified Chartered Accountant (Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand) with 33 years of experience in transaction businesses of the Big-4 accounting firms. Throughout is career, David has led processes of change or restructuring within companies by active engagement with their stakeholders. David was a partner at EY from 2008 to 2019 and prior to that he worked for PwC from 1987 to 2007, the last 7 years as partner.

Skills and Experience: David brings to intu deep professional experience of working with businesses of all sizes which are undergoing change or restructuring. He will also take up the role of Chief Restructuring Officer as intu works through its strategy to fix the balance sheet.

Other appointments: David currently holds two other non-executive roles in UK private companies.

In addition to the Chairman, the Board is comprised of the Deputy Chairman, two executive directors and three non-executive directors. More information about the Chairman and the executive directors can be found here.